kimberlycsmith

A great WordPress.com site

The Simple beauty of Life…being thankful.

I woke up this morning to the sound of my three year, saying “Mommy turn around”. I have yet to take down her crib and convert it into a daybed in her own room, being that she doesn’t sleep well unless I am in the room with her. So I complied with the little voice calling my name. She is surprised each time at the response she receives as I turn around wide eye, as if I were awake the whole time, surges my excitement as well. I am always taken back to the time that she was born. You see, Noni as we call her, was born two months premature. I remember laying eyes on her for the first time and thinking, “Oh God”, she is so tiny. I think that I was in shock at the fact that she could be held with one hand. I didn’t get to hold her after she was born. Her heart was very weak and she had to be rushed to the Nic Unit. So there I was in the coldness of the operating room left with all of my fears and the what-ifs. If anyone has ever been faced with the confrontation of a possible life or death situation, you become forced to acknowledge the fragility and preciousness of life. It was two day before I could see my precious little Noni. I know for certain that it was the longest two days that I have ever experienced. It was as if there were more hours in a day because I was waiting. I have to say that I was never sad during the wait, just relentlessly hopeful. When I was finally able to see Noni, I just needed her to know in whatever certainty I could muster up, “I was here, and this is where I would be everyday until she was able to come home.” So that was my message every time I would visit her. “Mommy’s here”. I mention this story because, I reference it to all of the things and happenings in my life that I may have taken for granted or overlooked, or not paid enough attention to. That one moment in the birth of my daughter, my third child, transcended me in to a world of “Thankfulness”. No longer would I think of the the pettiness of anything that has fallen short or will fall short of my expectations any longer. That moment in time became my time to wake up to my life and those around me, and simply, breathe.  And for that I am “Thankful“.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “The Simple beauty of Life…being thankful.

  1. My grandaughter was also in the NIC.I love hearing about moms and their kids and hope you see you again.

  2. Hope yourlittle girl is doing well.I loved your post and will come back

    • Thank you for you well wishes. I must have posted your response some where else. I am so new to blogging, thank you for being patient with me.

  3. Happy belated Mother’s Day, Kimberly! Much health and happiness to you and your daughter. I am new to blogging too. Let’s follow and support each other.
    God Bless! http://nyparrot.wordpress.com/

    • Thank you so much for following. I will try to always put something insightful and uplifting on my blog. We already live in a world that has become some what heavy with cruel indecision. So if ever I have the platform and opportunity to inspire and uplift to remind everyone that the impossible is possible….I take a chance and “Speak”. Hope that you are having a happy blogging day. I will get over to your page and leave a comment as well on your work. Talk to you soon.

  4. Awe, this is such a beautiful post. I think a mothers love can heal almost anything. I love this story, thank you so much for sharing it. It truly feels amazing to fully be thankful. You are so blessed to have such a wonderful little miracle in your life!
    Much love and abundant blessings,
    Kimmy
    http://www.withoutalabel.me
    (I place my site here because it is not linked to my WordPress account. The one that is linked is one that I did a guest post for =))

    • Hey Kimmie,
      Thank you so kindly for your response and comments. I am new to the blogging scene as well. I went to your page and I will be following you as well. I will leave a comment for you as soon as I am connected to your blog. I love your candid honesty. You have a raw sense of who you are and where you have been, that just so happens to be a breath of fresh air. There is no false pretensions in your words, which in turn allows your followers to be naked with you. I will speak to you further on your site shortly. Stay Encouraged!

  5. What a beautiful post! Children can bring out the best in us, if we let them. I feel lucky to have two in my life, and they have changed the way I look at the world.

  6. Read your post on Thankfulness . Its true that we take so many things for granted . you can read my post ” Being Thankful ” dated Mar 14th 2012 by going to archives . am sure you will like it . Feel free to share your thoughts .I will be delighted to hear from you .

Leave a Reply

