kimberlycsmith

A great WordPress.com site

“Dancing in the Rain”

Just the other day a friend of mine asked me, Have you ever danced in the rain? I frowned a little thinking to myself, why would I ever do that? I thought of a thousand reasons why this wouldn’t make any sense or serve any purpose to me. Besides that, my hair would get wet and that would be a disaster.

From the time that I was a child, I was always taught, scolded, and trained to come in from the rain for fear of getting pneumonia or whooping cough, besides the fact that it’s raining cats and dogs out there. I chuckle at the grey areas of childhood beliefs. So now that I was confronted with Dancing in the rain, as much as I referred to the reasoning of ole, what harm would it do? Really? I am sure that there was a reason that I was asked the question in the first place, although I chose not to ask. So as I sat in my office, I could hear the faint sounds of rain tip toeing on the shingle on my rooftop. I tilted my head to the side with child like curiosity, and I thought, why not? I got my flip flops out of the closet and headed for the front door, imagination in tact. When I got to the door, I stood there for a second in contemplation..What will the neighbors think? “Who cares!”, as I threw caution to the wind, stepping out of my comfort zone,… and danced in the rain. For the first time in my life I wasn’t trying to run between raindrops, and it was intentionally wonderful and freeing. I took all of my childhood reservations with me, and let go of each and every reason, Not to!

I speak of this instant in my life because, I have recalled over the years how other people’s reasoning would effect whether or not I would take a chance. There have been many opportunities that I have let come and go for fear of what I’ve been taught to not agree with or against.  But until I threw, and we throw caution to the wind and simply, dance in the rain, we may never know what will awaken the passion in our souls….granting us one more chance to get it right.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on ““Dancing in the Rain”

  1. wingeyes on said:

    Wow, I wrote something about running in the rain a couple years ago and put it in my blog. Rain has an oddly freeing characteristic to it doesn’t it?
    https://wingeyes.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/eyes-of-innocence-the-last-time-i-ran-with-the-rain/

  2. I love dancing in the rain, it is so freeing. I’m so glad you threw caution to the wind and went for it. Good for you! I’m enjoying reading your blog so much! I found you through LinkedIn and am now following you. I would love for you to stop by my blog sometime and give it some much needed feedback as I am fairly new to this. I look forward to reading your other posts and receiving your new ones via email. Keep up the amazing work girlie!
    Much love and abundant blessings,
    Kimmy
    http://www.withoutalabel.me

  3. I’ve done some dancing in the rain a couple of times in my life – both times I was not alone and had a romantic interest with me to show my moves to;)

  4. Enjoyed reading your blog about dancing in the rain . somehow never plucked up the courage to indulge in the small and freeing gestures that u mentioned . something is released within you and all inhibitions take a backseat . you may like to read my blog too as i stumbled upon yours . Iwould love to hear from you .

Leave a Reply

